Album Review: Anchor Lane’s ‘Casino’

By Chyrisse Tabone, Rock At Night

Album Review: Anchor Lane’s Casino-Release date January 31, 2020

Anchor Lane-Casino

Since breaking into the scene with their four-song 2017 EP New Beginning, Scottish band Anchor Lane has gathered mileage and an impressive resume, touring with notables such as Cheap Trick, Eagles of Death Metal, and Tremonti. They have been honing their craft and working the live gig market, appearing at Download, Isle of Wight, Stone Free, Belladrum, and Hard Rock Hell.

After finally settling down to write music, with assistance from Ricky Warwick (Black Star Riders, Thin Lizzy, The Almighty) on two songs, the band will be releasing a 10-song album Casino on January 31, 2020.  Rock At Night gave the album a listen and immediately fell in love with its 90s grunge and hard rock sound.

Hard rocking “Fame Shame” provides a commentary about the self-indulgent, social media society, as the song asks, “We don’t care, we don’t wanna’ know, cause your fame is your shame.” A couple of stand-out songs, which clearly show a 90s grunge (think Pearl Jam or Soundgarden) influence are “Voodoo” and “Casino.”  Both are slow, bluesy, ballads with cool riffs and memorable melodies.

If heavier rock is your cup of tea, listen to “Clocks” and “Stone Cold Hearted” for starters.  “Shell of Me” has an acoustic guitar introduction and segues into a grunge ballad.  “Dead Run” is hard rocking and features Ricky Warwick on backing vocals.

Throughout the album, lead singer Conor Gaffney’s vocals are clear and soaring.  The instrumental backing of guitarist Lawrence O’Brien and bassist Matthew Quigley provide heavy riffs, blending with Scott Hanlon’s solid drum beat.

Overall, the album is energetic and well-produced, providing a solid collection of songs that will appeal to those yearning for the 90s.

MEMBERS: Conor Gaffney (singer), Lawrence O’Brien (guitar), Matthew Quigley (bass), Scott Hanlon (drums)

Track Listing

  1. Blood & Irony
  2. Fame Shame
  3. Voodoo
  4. Casino
  5. Closcks
  6. Stone Cold Hearted
  7. Shell of me
  8. Flatline
  9. Dead Run (featuring Ricky Warwick)
  10. Honey

Recorded at Vale Studios in the Midlands with renowned rock musician, writer, and producer Toby Jepson (Wayward Sons, Gun, Little Angels). Rock legend Ricky Warwick (Black Star Riders, Thin Lizzy, The Almighty) co-wrote Blood & Irony and Dead Run.

Release date is January 31, 2020 by R7 Records-CD, digital, Limited Edition 12” vinyl picture disc







Chyrisse Tabone, Ph.D.
Follow Me