Album Review: Booze & Glory’s ‘Hurricane’

Booze & Glory

By Erik De’Viking, Rock At Night London

Album Review: Booze & Glory’s ‘Hurricane” – Release date October 18, 2019-Scarlet Teddy Records

Started as a tribute to the London punk scene of the 70s and 80s, Booze & Glory carry on that tradition wrapped up in a contemporary package. Back with their latest album, ‘Hurricane’ the band are back to lead the charge against racism, nationalism, and hate. In a time where protest music is needed more than ever, Booze & Glory are here to deliver just that. The fifth album from the quartet, it serves as a bit of a change from their earlier music. There’s a level of maturity and social awareness about this album, that is no doubt influenced as much by age as it is from the multi-cultural makeup of the band.

Booze & Glory

Opening with a subtle organ intro, first track ‘Never Again’ breaks into rapid-fire guitars and drums like a machine gun, and explores themes of respect. It really sets the tone of the album, and makes for a great start for what is to follow. Up next is the metal-infused ‘Ticking Bombs’. One of the stand-out tracks on the album, it doesn’t take long before you’re trying to sing along with the band. The anthemic ’10 Years’ looks back at the band’s career over the past decade, while looking forward to a bright future. ‘Live It Up’ picks up that theme of respect once again, and urges listeners to be good to one another. As we head towards the mid-point in the album we have ‘The Guv’nor’ with its infectious mid-tempo beats, and title track ‘Hurricane’ which slows things down a notch as the band tells the listener to keep moving forward and not get held back by the past.

Raucous, rowdy, and full of bombastic riffs and licks, this balls-to-the-wall album is sure to please any fans of hard rock as much as punk

Another stand-out track on the album is ‘My Heart Is Burning’. Rising like a war cry against social injustice, it rails against the political class and the fallout from their greed and self-interest. In the end it challenges the listener to be the change they want to see in the world, as no one else is going to give it to them. Switching gears for just a moment, the autobiographical ‘Goodbye’ is a fun look at often less than glamorous life on the road. Segueing back into the socio-political angst, ‘Darkest Nights’ takes a deep-dive back into themes of respect as the band tells us how it is. Up next is perhaps one of my favourite songs on the album, at least for the fun factor – the band’s cover of ‘I’m Still Standing’. In pure punk tradition, they’ve almost completely transformed this into a totally new song, which is bound to have the crowds going crazy when performed live. Rounding out the album are their tribute to football club West Ham United, ‘Three Points’, and closing track, the poignant ‘Too Soon’, which looks back on those who’ve passed away before their time.

 Booze & Glory prove that punk is still very much alive with ‘Hurricane’

‘Hurricane’ was recorded at Soundlab Studios in Sweden by Mathias Farm (guitarist for Millencolin), and features a plush and vibrant sound. Featuring 12 barnstorming songs for a fractured age, this is an album screaming to be played live as much as possible. Raucous, rowdy, and full of bombastic riffs and licks, this balls-to-the-wall album is sure to please any fans of hard rock as much as punk.



1. Never Again

2. Ticking Bombs

3. Ten Years

4. Live It Up

5. The Guv’nor

6. Hurricane

7. My Heart Is Burning

8. Goodbye

9. Darkest Nights

10. I’m Still Standing

11. Three Points

12. Too Soon






Erik De'Viking

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply