Review: UK band False Head’s single ‘Haunted Houses’

Single/Video Review

False Heads

By Justin Hurst-Kehus, Rock At Night Detroit

Review: False Head’s single “Haunted Houses“-Release date August 18, 2022

False Heads is a fascinating band name, and the implications are horrifying.

They’ve got a music video up, for a song called “Haunted Houses.” Again, terrifying. It’s a pretty simple tour footage video, which works if you’re as high energy as these lads from the UK. It’s got some real punk credentials with production coming from legendary Frank Turner and featuring him on guitar and vocals as well.

The drums  drive the song forward with metronomic frenzy. Its chugging guitars storm through the song with a noisy vigor, letting up occasionally to add melody and some space for the yelled and screamed punk vocals. It’s like popcorn soaked in a monster energy drink, in that it’s high energy and will leave you coming back for more, but instead of being awful, it’s a pretty catchy punk anthem about living with mental health problems.

*The album Sick Moon is out September 30th via Scruff of the Neck Records

Stream on all services HERE:



Featuring punk icon Frank Turner on guitar and vocals, the eerie new track comes as another glimpse into rising rock trio False Heads’ long-awaited second album ‘Sick Moon’.
Catch the band on tour:
01 – Muther’s Studio, Birmingham
02 – World Headquarters, Newcastle
04 – Hug and Pint, Glasgow
05 – The Grand Social, Dublin 
06 – Voodoo, Belfast
07 – Monroe’s Live, Galway
11 – Bodega, Nottingham
12 – Venn St Social, Huddersfield
13 – Night & Day Cafe, Manchester
14 – Sidney & Matilda, Sheffield
17 – The Exchange, Bristol
18 – Clwb Ifor Bach, Cardiff
19 – 60 Million Postcards, Bournemouth
20 – Oslo, London
21 – The Hope & Ruin, Brighton
26 – Neues Schauspiel
27 – Backstage Cub, Stuttgart
28 – Yard Club, Cologne
31 – Headcrach, Hamburg
1 – Cassiopeia, Berlin
2 – Melkweg, Amsterdam


Website | Twitter | Instagram | Facebook | Youtube

Justin Hurst-Kehus