A Review of Robert Jon and the Wreck’s Stunning New Album ‘Shine a Light On Me Brother’

Robert Jon and the Wreck

By Anita Stewart, Managing Editor

Album Review: “Shine a Light On Me Brother

Release Date: September 3, 2021

Robert Jon and the Wreck have become favorites and received accolades from rock lovers and music organizations and media everywhere on a global scale since they formed in 2011 in Orange County, California. Known for their live performances and relentless touring in support of their albums, some of their most dedicated fans are in the UK and throughout the rest of Europe. This is a band that is working to keep the genres of Americana, Roots and Southern Rock Music alive.

Robert Jon and the Wreck

In the past the band has opened for others such as: Joe BonamassaBuddy GuyEric GalesLiving ColourChris Robinson BrotherhoodWalter TroutRival SonsRobert Randolph & The Family BandLukas Nelson & Promise of the RealThe Cadillac ThreeBlack Stone CherryDevon Allman BandBilly SheehanSturgill Simpson and many more.

The band is: Robert Jon Burrison on lead vocals and guitar, Andrew Espantman on drums and background vocals, Steve Maggiora keys and background vocals, Henry James on lead guitar and Warren Murrel on bass. The band has been together since 2011. This latest recording is from the band’s sixth studio album.

Stand out songs on this album were all ten of them; the title song is easily a favorite. “Ain’t No Young Love Song,” is a rocking love song with catchy hooks, beautiful harmonies, keys, probably the most commercial song on this album. “Chicago” is a lively, Chicago style blues song with a slower tempo and cool horn arrangements. “Hurricane” is a mostly acoustic love gone wrong ballad, country-rock and Americana, with melancholic harmonized lyrics slide guitar at the bridge–poignant. “Movin‘” sounded very retro, 70’s rock and roll–outstanding piano interludes. Funky blues rock on the final cut, “Radio.” This one made me smile–this band loves to tell their stories!

You can pre-order the album in all formats and check out the rest of the merch here–USA Store and UK/EU Store. And the band’s upcoming tour info is HERE. The tour begins soon after the album’s release in September. Troy Redfern will be the band’s special guest–he will also be promoting his brand new album, “The Fire Cosmic.” See Rock at Night’s review of that album HERE.

Album Track Listing

Shine A Light On Me Brother
Ain’t No Young Love Song
Desert Sun
Anna Maria

Produced by Robert Jon & The Wreck
Co-Produced by Jeff Frickman
Recorded and Mixed by Jeff Frickman at Sonic Groove Studio, Burbank, CA
Mastered by Mike Fossenkemper at Turtle Tone Studio, New York, NY

Rock at Night says: “This was an enjoyable album to listen and rock to–probably their best recording so far. Robert Jon and the Wreck have a distinct sound but each of their songs sound different–the band members show off their musical skills by using various tempos, styles and genres. Excellent songwriting throughout! Will be listening to this one again and again!





Anita Stewart
Follow Me

Reading Leeds Fest – Aug 23 – 25, 2024

Reading Leeds Fest – Aug 23 – 25, 2024

Manchester Psych Fest – UK

Manchester Psych Fest – UK

Totally Tubular Festival

Totally Tubular Festival

Punk In the Park – Orlando, FL