Chez Kane Elicits Memories of the 80s with ‘I Just Want You’

Single Review

Chez Kane

By “Tampa” Earl Burton

Review: Chez Kane’s video ‘I Just Want You’-August 1, 2022

One of the unique things about music is that it tends to be cyclical. What was once considered “cool”, or “hip” somehow have a way of coming back around for a new generation. That is the case with singer Chez Kane, who elicits memories of the 80s with her latest single “I Just Want You.”

Kane exploded on the scene in 2021 with her self-titled debut record that featured the song “Rocket on the Radio.” This time around, Kane has enlisted the aid of Danny Rexon of Crazy Lixx and Harry Scott Elliott (recently picked up by 80s rockers Tyketto) to put together what is a surprisingly strong second effort that will be released in October. Released at the beginning of August, “I Just Want You” will bring you all the feels of the 80s lady rockers from a performer who wasn’t even alive when they came around. The video that was filmed for the song definitely touches on several performers from the 80s, including Lita Ford and Ann and Nancy Wilson of Heart. The song itself could have been lifted from Ann Wilson’s ideas folder, but Kane unabashedly brings the song to life with her performance. Meanwhile, both Rexon and Elliott add their distinct touches to the song and advance Kane’s performance and style.

The album that the song will come from, Powerzone, will hit the streets on October 21, but the title track from that album was released prior to “I Just Want You.” Additionally, Kane will be hitting the road to support the album, heading to Rockin’ the Bowl in Sheffield, England on September 11 and other tour stope in London, Buckley and Machynlleth to finish off the month of October. If you can’t wait for the new record to come out, you should check out what Kane has already released, as she is a powerhouse vocalist with a throwback style that will certainly entertain all of those who love the sounds of 80s rock.


Chez Kane – Vocals

Danny Rexon – All Instrumentation

Additional Musicians:

Jesse Molloy – Saxophone


Like what you hear? Listen to “Powerzone”.

Upcoming Tour Dates:



11: Rockin’ The Bowl – Sheffield


27: 02 Academy 2 Islington, London

28: Tivoli, Buckley

29: Y Llew Coch Mach – Machynlleth


03: Waterloo Bar, Blackpool

04: Patriot, Crumlin

05: Nightrain, Bradford

06: Think Tank?, Newcastle

18: Corporation, Sheffield

19: FiendFest – Ivory Black, Glasgow

20: The Station, Cannock

26: All Star Fest, Belgium


17: Stockholm Rockout, Sweden



13: Wolf, Barcelona14: Moby Dick, Madrid


29-04: Monsters Of Rock Cruise





Tampa Earl