Review of New Mexico band Dust City Opera’s single ‘The Unkind’

Single Review

Dust City Opera - Photo by Gracie Meier

By Tampa Earl, Rock At Night Tampa (of course)!

Review: Dust City Opera’s single “The Unkind” – Release date January 19, 2022

Upcoming album Alien Summer will be out on March 4, 2022

Ahead of the release of their second album Alien Summer on March 4th, Albuquerque, NM’s Dust City Opera has released a teaser in the single “The Unkind.” Dust City Opera is an alternative based band that incorporates some instruments that you normally wouldn’t associate with a rock band. Singer/songwriter/guitarist Paul Hunton has brought together these diverse instrumentalists, Clara Byom (clarinet, accordion, keyboards) and Travis Rourk (trombone), to join in with Chris Livingston (lead guitar), Scott Brewer (bass) and Dave Purcell (drums). The resulting gumbo of music offers something for all listeners.

With “The Unkind,” Dust City Opera offer a plaintive cry of warning for people to take responsibility for themselves. Byom’s work is subtly under the proceedings, while Rourk’s trombone adds a perfect flavoring to the tune. Hunton’s vocals might be an acquired taste, but it works for “The Unkind” and the rest of Dust City Opera’s work on Alien Summer. Until Alien Summer comes out in about six weeks, check out “The Unkind” on YouTube. For fans of an off-the-beaten-track sound, Dust City Opera may have something to offer you.


Alien Summer Track Listing

  1. The Unkind
  2. Days When
  3. The Fog
  4. Love Of Mine
  5. Angie
  6. Keep Running
  7. Alien Summer
  8. An Okay Way To Go
  9. You’ll Be Okay
  10. It
  11. Tile Or Linoleum
  12. Stars

Dust City OperaPaul Hunton [vocals, guitar, songwriter], Clara Byom [clarinet, accordion, keys], Travis Rourk [trombone], Chris Livingston [lead guitar], Scott Brewer [bass], and Dave Purcell [drums]



Follow Dust City Opera: Website // Instagram // Facebook // Twitter // YouTube // Spotify

Tampa Earl